Wildwings’s Weblog











{March 18, 2008}   మాధవ కేశవా (Madhava Keshava) – My favorite annamacharya keerthana

One of the beautiful keerthanas in the praise of Lord Vishnu by Annamacharya. Though I learned classical music, I never learned keerthanas. I learnt this one from my sister. Love this one so much that I listen to it every day. Here are the lyrics in telugu:

మాధవ కేశవా మధుసూదన విష్ణు | శ్రీధరా పదనఖం చింతయామి యూయం ||

వామన గోవింద వాసుదేవ ప్రద్యుమ్న | రామరామ కృష్ణ నారాయణాచ్యుట |
దామోదరనిరుద్ధ దైవ పుండరికాక్ష | నామత్రయాధీస నమోనమో ||

పురుషోత్తమ పుండరికాక్ష దివ్య | హరి సంకర్షణ అధోక్షజ |
నరసింహ హ్రుశికేశ నగధర త్రివిక్రమ | శరణాగత రక్ష జయజయ సేవే ||

మహిత జనార్దన మత్స్యకూర్మ వరాహ | సహజ భార్గవ బుద్ధ జయతురగా కల్కి |
విహిత విజ్జాన శ్రీవెంకటేశ శుభకరం | అహమిహ తవపద దాస్యం అనిశం భాజామి ||

Listen to the song.



Ravindra says:

Hi Thanks for the song. I also like this song very much



Surya says:

That was very nice… thanks. You may like this one too, Its called the Madhurashtakam.

http://www.astrojyoti.com/madhurasthakam.htm, visit the URL and click play on the small player you see at the top right below the title.

Quote “The Madhurasthakam is composed by Vallabhacharya (1479-1531). He is one of the greatest sage- philosophers of India, who belonged to a Telugu Brahmin family. He was one of the foremost followers of Bhakthi Marga and established his philosophy of Pushti Marga in North India during the 16th century. This is a unique stotra which uses just one adjective, “madhuram”, meaning sweet or beautiful, to describe the greatness and the attributes of lord Krishna.” Unquote

I liked it all the more because, it i so melodious with very minimal music, and the beauty of using just one word to describe the Lord.

Let me know how you find it too.

shrinie@gmail.com



V.Shreenath says:

I like soo much this madhava keshava keerthana , but l ot of times i tried for this song , now i got through this website, so thanks to this website



Leave a comment

et cetera